Corn salad

My youngest is a bean freak.  He loves anything with beans, and the more beans the better, and in my quest to find more foods with beans in them I came across this corn salad, and I have to say, it was very tasty.  And Connor approves!

 

Corn Salad with Black Beans and Tomatoes

(from Cooks Illustrated)

Serves 6-8

Note: Cooks Illustrated says not to use frozen or canned corn.  I might agree with the canned concept, but I’m not sure about frozen, so take that how you want.  The salad can be prepared, covered, and refrigerated up to a day in advance, just before serving, let the salad sit at room temperature for 20 minutes.  Either don’t dress it till serving, or freshen it with a squeeze of lime before serving.

Dressing

6 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

2 tbsp lime juice

1 tbsp red wine vinegar

1 jalapeno chile (I used a cayenne), stemmed, seeded, and minced (leave seeds in for more heat)

1 garlic clove, minced

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

Mix dressing ingredients together, either in a bowl or in a jar with a tight lid.

 

Salad

8 ears of corn (I actually used less and it was fine)

1 pint grape or cherry tomatoes, halved (I chopped up 3 regular tomatoes)

1 (15.5 oz) can of black beans, rinsed

6 scallions (I used 3 because it was all I had), sliced thin

2 tbsp fresh cilantro leaves, minced

Cook corn in boiling water until tender, 5-7 minutes.  Drain and rinse under cold water.  Cut the kernels from the cobs into a large mixing bowl.  Add tomatoes, beans, scallions, cilantro, and dressing.  Toss.  Season with salt and pepper to taste (I didn’t add any), and serve.

Leave a Reply

