What to post what to post… Indecisions and pregnancy.

So, most days I say, “I should post to my recipe blog, but what to post?”  And then I get tired or distracted and wander off.  There were several days of, “I keep eating cheese popovers, I should post those… Oh, the recipe is way over there…. Ooo shiny!”  But today, today I crave citrus/strawberry/ginger sorbet, and that recipe is on my computer, so no walking required.  I win!  This stuff is absolutely fabulous, and based off a recipe I found on epicurious.  Yes, it takes a bit of time, and yes, it’s not quite summer yet, but it’s too tasty to wait (also I’m pregnant… still… so I get to post what I want!).

 

Ginger and Citrus Sorbet (with strawberries!)

5 cups water

2 cups sugar

3 tablespoons finely chopped peeled fresh ginger

 

2 teaspoons finely grated lemon peel (I skipped this)

2 teaspoons finely grated lime peel (I skipped this)

3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

3 tablespoons fresh lime juice

A handful of frozen strawberries.

 

Combine 5 cups water, sugar and ginger in heavy large saucepan. Bring to boil, stirring until sugar dissolves. Reduce heat and simmer 10 minutes. Strain liquid into large bowl; discard solids.  Return liquid to same saucepan. Add lemon and lime peels. Boil 2 minutes. Remove from heat. Whisk in lemon and lime juices.  Throw in the strawberries Cool completely. Pour mixture into 13x9x2-inch glass baking dish. Cover and freeze until solid, about 6 hours or overnight.  Transfer mixture to processor and puree until smooth. Return to same glass dish; cover and freeze until solid, at least 3 hours or overnight.  Try not to consume in one sitting (go on, I dare you, it’s addictive once you take a couple bites).

Makes 8 servings (or one large one, just for me, all  for MEEEEEEEEEE!)

Leave a Reply

