Butternut Squash Risotto with Goat Cheese and Pecans

I love Epicurious.  I have shelves full of cookbooks that I never even look at anymore because Epicurious fulfills my every cooking need.  So here’s the thought process that let Epicurious help me create my new favorite risotto:

Hmm, I need to cook this butternut squash, but I don’t know what to make.  Maybe Epicurious has a suggestion.

Ooh, Butternut Squash Gratin with Goat Cheese and Hazelnuts!  Oh, but I don’t have hazelnuts.  Or leeks.  Or cream.  Hmm.

Ooh, Risotto with Butternut Squash, Leeks, And Basil!  I don’t have most of that either.  But I do have arborio rice!  Hey, I bet that would be good with goat cheese.  And these pecans I found.  Yay!

So, here’s my adapted melding of these two dishes:

Butternut Squash Risotto with Goat Cheese and Pecans

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 4 cups 1/2-inch cubes peeled butternut squash (from 21/4 pounds squash)
  • 1 Onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon dried thyme
  • 2 cups arborio rice
  • 4 14-ounce cans (or more) vegetable broth
  • 3/4 cup soft chevre
  • 1/2 cup chopped roasted pecans

Heat 2 tablespoons oil in heavy large pot over medium-high heat. Add squash and sauté until beginning to soften and brown around edges, about 20 minutes. Transfer squash to medium bowl.  (In the future, I think I’ll just roast the squash.  It took a lot longer than the original recipe led me to believe to saute it, and roasting is less work :))

Reduce heat to medium; add remaining 1 tablespoon oil, onions, garlic, and thyme to same pot and stir until tender but not brown, about 5 minutes. Add rice and stir 1 minute. Add 1 cup broth and simmer until absorbed, stirring frequently, 3 to 4 minutes. Add remaining broth by 1/2 cupfuls, allowing each addition to be absorbed before adding next, stirring often, about 30 minutes (this also took longer than the original recipe suggested, but there’s really no rushing it). Return squash to pot and add pecans. Continue to cook until rice is just tender but still very creamy, stirring gently and often, about 10 minutes longer (about 25 minutes total cooking time). Add goat cheese and combine.  Remove from heat. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

7 responses to “Butternut Squash Risotto with Goat Cheese and Pecans

  1. I would like to say that this is delicious (even reheated) and thank you for your recipe amalgamation.

    Looks like adding the goat cheese was left off? I added it at the end, at the same point I’d add the Parmesan for a regular risotto and then left it covered for a while, which seems to not have done it any harm, at least.

  2. Argh! Can’t believe I missed the cheese! Will fix!

    Glad you liked it though. I thought it was even better reheated myself!

  3. I must say this recipe makes me sad, because I want goat cheese, but apparently doctors are sticking with the no soft cheese in pregnancy thing. They obviously haven’t had any goat cheese recently (so yummy)!

    • I thought it was only no unpasteurized soft cheeses. I admit it, I ate soft cheese…not a lot, and only pasteurized, but I did eat it.

  4. I just made this again, and (1) roasting the squash was better and (2) kale makes a nice addition.

  5. Yes, I think it is mostly unpasteurized soft cheeses, but I have this weird thing, there are very few things that I’m not allowed to eat that I want to eat, so I tend to be fairly strict with those things, because it feels lame otherwise. Plus it gives me something to look forward to after it’s all done
    ; )

Leave a Reply

