making Christmas

Requestiod time: I require your best cookie recipes, for I am starting my Christmas baking this weekend. (Obviously, dough that freezes well earns super bonus gold stars.)

Hit me!

7 responses to “making Christmas

  1. starting baking this weekend? Impressive! I have an awesome chocolate cookie recipe, but it’s really only fantastic warm out of the oven, or shortly there after. I also have standard cookies that you frost recipe, which probably freezes great. And a cookie with nuts and jelly. Any of those sound exciting?

    I seem to only have the cookie with nuts recipe already typed up, so that’s here, I can get the others later, I’m just cleaning and working and packing to leave for DC tomorrow, so a little pressed for time now.

    Daddy Cookies (is what I call them as they are my dad’s favorites)

    2 sticks unsalted butter
    2/3 cup sugar
    1 egg and 2 egg yolks (save the whites)
    1 tsp vanilla extract
    ½ tsp almond extract
    2 cups flour
    ¾ tsp salt
    Finely chopped pecans
    Favorite jelly or jam

    Preheat oven to 375° F. Cream butter and sugar. Add beaten egg and yolks and stir, then add the vanilla and almond extract. Sift together remaining ingredients and add to egg, butter, and sugar in 3 batches. Chill for at least 1 hour.

    Beat saved egg whites until foamy. Roll dough into balls about ¾ inch in diameter, roll in the beaten egg whites and then in the finely chopped pecans. Bake for about 5 min, then with finger or thumb, make a dent in the center of each and return to oven for another 5-8 min. Will burn easily. When cookies slightly cool, fill dent with jelly or jam or your choosing.

  2. Oh wait, I found the sugar cookie recipe in my email! here it is, it uses the same frosting (minus the ginger) from the pumpkin muffins.

    Sugar Cookies

    1 c. Sugar
    1/2 c. Margarine
    2 eggs, beaten
    1 Tbsp cream (milk will do) (I tend to use milk)
    1 1/2 tsp lemon peel
    1 tsp vanilla
    2 1/2 c. flour
    1/ 4 tsp salt
    1 1/3 tsp baking powder
    1/2 tsp nutmeg

    cream margarine and sugar, add eggs, vanilla, lemon peel, and cream/milk and mix together. Sift dry ingredients together and add to wet ingredients, mix well. chill for 30min or longer (freezing at this point probably would be fine). roll out fairly thin and cut into shapes you want. bake on greased sheet at 400 degree 10 minutes–watch very carefully will burn quickly

    The recipe in Joy of Cooking for Roll Cookies is about the same thing.

    Frosting (from Joy of Cooking, quick white icing)

    2 c powdered sugar (sifted if lumpy)
    4 tbsp unsalted butter (softened).

    Beat together till well mixed with an electric mixer.

    3-4 tbsp of milk
    1 tsp vanilla
    1/8 tsp salt

    food coloring to make it the color(s) you want.

    Add milk, vanilla and salt. Beat until smooth. Then just add more sugar or milk until consistency is right. Add food coloring and stir to mix. Clean beaters thoroughly yourself, or employ any helpers who have been hanging about. Let cookies fully cool before frosting or else it will run everywhere.

  3. I have lots of great recipes, just tell me which ones you want to see:

    Peanut butter raisin bran cookies
    Ginger chewys
    Peppermint chocolate pinwheels
    Cherry chocolate chip pecans
    Italian seed cookies
    Mexican wedding balls
    Ginger cream cookies
    Also: fudge, peanut brittle, and English toffee

  4. Oh oh oh! English toffee, please! I have a recipe that requires toffee and I cannot buy it here. (England, why no English toffee?)

    And then I will eat some.

    Also: peppermint chocolate pinwheels, cherry chocolate chip pecans. That will do me for now.

    And thank you, Kt!

  5. I want ginger cream cookies (and peppermint chocolate pinwheels and toffee, by those were already covered). What sort of cookies and christmas treats do you make Lauren?

  6. Last year it was Chewy Chocolate-Gingerbread cookies and Double Chocolate Toffee Chews (very improvised, as I was unable to find toffee anywhere). I think you sent me both of those recipes at some point. I also made some decorated sugar cookies. I’ve also done macarons, which were kind of a faff but very delicious.

  7. Heh, apparently I forgot some of the steps in the sugar cookie recipe. After adding in the eggs, add the milk and lemon peel and vanilla. Then add dry ingredients, mix together, and refrigerate.

Leave a Reply

