Pumpkin Muffins and Ginger Frosting

So it’s fall, and Halloween-y, which means time for pumpkin muffins. These things are very tasty and allow me to frost things in a ginger frosting, which makes me happy. Plus they are relatively straight forward. Plus, they allow Xander to help “clean” the beaters afterwards, and that makes him very happy as well.

Pumpkin Muffins
(From a cupcake a day calendar I had)

1 1/2 c flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp allspice
1 1/4 c superfine sugar (or about 1 1/3 – 1 1/2 regular sugar)
1/2 c veg oil
2 eggs
1/2 c milk
1 c pumpkin puree

Mix dry ingredients in small bowl, mix eggs, milk, and oil in medium bowl. Add pumpkin to wet ingredients, stir to combine. Add dry ingredients to pumpkin mix, and pour into muffin tins, bake for 15-20 min at 350 deg.

Quick Frosting (also what I use for christmas cookies)
(From Joy of Cooking)

2 c powdered sugar (sifted if lumpy)
4 tbsp unsalted butter (softened).

Beat together till well mixed with an electric mixer.

3-4 tbsp of milk
1 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp ginger (optional)

Add milk, vanilla and salt (and ginger if using). Beat until smooth. Then just add more sugar or milk until consistency is right.  Clean beaters thoroughly yourself, or employ any helpers who have been hanging about.  Wait for muffins to cool before frosting or you’ll end up with runny frosting, which is really not the worst thing ever…

6 responses to “Pumpkin Muffins and Ginger Frosting

  1. I made these today. They are looking at me. Deliciously looking at me …

  2. They should be looking at you from inside your tummy. I made them last weekend, and will be making them again tomorrow. Did you have to make pumpkin from real pumpkin again this year?

  3. I don’t know if I’ll make these any time soon, but I have a box of very delicious Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Bread Mix sitting in my cupboard right now, and you are inspiring me to make that and frost the bread with deliciousness.

    I know your muffins probably taste better. But the TJs mix takes 5 minutes. And it’s here.

  4. Ginger frosting makes most things better (I’d say all things, but I just had roast chicken and ginger frosting wouldn’t have made it any better). Trader Joe’s Pumpkin bread sounds tasty as well! One nice thing about these muffins is that they do come together rather fast (assuming one doesn’t have to make their own canned pumpkin), but probably not as fast as that bread mix. ; )

  5. Yup, had to make my own pureed pumpkin (from a pumpkin we grew [mostly – long story] ourselves, even). I have pumpkin puree for 2 more batches of muffins, 3 pumpkin pies and had enough for the muffins I already made (which are delicious) and the pumpkin curry we had last night.

    I am OK with not having canned pumpkin available, and probably will be until I run out of the pumpkin I froze. ( :

  6. You are impressive missy! I’d give up at the thought of making my own pureed pumpkin : )

Leave a Reply

