bringin’ soupy back (again)

Thing the first: my favourite thing about Italy was not the gelato (although it was delicious). It was also not the pasta (and I think I ate more fish than pasta anyway). It was not the pizza. It was the mozzarella di Bufala Campana, which has ruined most other cheese (and definitely any other mozzarella; you may as well be eating snot if you’re going to bother with something that substandard) for me.

Thankfully, we can acquire actual mozzarella here, so I am not feeling too terribly bereft.

Otherwise, it’s decidedly autumn here. 

So, for the week upcoming, I am making (among other things*), Moroccan lentil soup. I got this recipe from some thread on Metafilter (which for some reason I’ve never bothered joining, even after some 8+ years of lurking), and it has served me well in the past.

Moroccan Lentil Soup
–1 cup dried lentils
–1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
–1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
–1 onion, chopped
–2 garlic cloves, smashed and chopped
–1/2 cup chopped celery
–1/2 cup chopped carrots
–28 oz can of diced tomatoes (and juice)
–4 cups vegetable broth
–1 1/2 tsp garam masala
–1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
–1/2 tsp cumin
–1/4 tsp nutmeg
–1/4 tsp cinnamon
–1 inch ginger, peeled and grated

The Directions.

Use at least a 5 quart crockpot for this. It makes a lot.

Chop up all of your vegetables and add them to the crockpot. If you are rushed in the morning, consider chopping the vegetables at night—it took me longer than I wanted it to. Drain and rinse off the beans, add to the pot. Add the dried lentils. Grate your ginger, and add it along with the dried spices. Stir in the vegetable broth and tomatoes.

Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours. Soup tastes best the longer you cook it, and it is even better the next day.

Before serving, use an immersible blender and pulse to blend some of the vegetables and beans together. This isn’t necessary, but it really improves the texture of the soup and melds the flavors nicely.

__________
* Some kind of linguine with chili and chocobo (fake/veggie chicken) and a couscous salad for lunches.

3 responses to “bringin’ soupy back (again)

  1. Heh, I think I posted my Moroccan beef patty recipe in that tread, those are tasty… However, this also seems tasty, though I have no immersible blender, how bad would it be to not blend it?

    Also, glad you had fun in Italy! However, you are totally blasphemous, the only redeeming thing about Italy was the gelato! I can’t wait until we have money and we can come up, visit you, and maybe go on an exciting European trip together (our last one, in high school (because we’re OLDDDDDD) was so great!)…. Where are those lottery winnings when you need them?

  2. I forgot to blend it the first night we had it this time, and it was fine. I prefer it blended, but then it’s more like a stew than a soup in its consistency, so you might prefer a soupier version anyway. The flavours don’t suffer anything unblended.

    My lottery winnings are locked away, since we don’t buy lottery tickets. But if you win, we’ll go with you! ( ;

    (Seriously, a trip like that would be fantastic. We’d need some time to save, but I pretty much need to go here, so let me know which April is the best April and we’ll go then.) ( :

  3. Heh, you need to save? We have a distinct lack of savings, plus a distinct lack of ability to save, especially with 2nd little one coming and daycare costs rising : ) But now I need to go to that pretty pretty place too (and I’ve never been to Belgium), and back to Murren Switzerland, and I never turn down Spain : )

Leave a Reply

