Recipe request

Hi all,

I have a request for you all.  I’ve started a teaching gig that keeps me late 2x a week and AJ works late 2x a week (opposite days from me), so we find ourselves needing more make ahead/quick food than we are used to needing, as we will both be single parenting dinner time for a total of 4x a week, and Xander rarely understands go hang out by yourself as we make dinner, nor does the dog understand his walks being cut short or dropped so that we can make dinner.  So hit me with your best make ahead meals or quick fix meals.  Xander doesn’t believe salad is food  (“Not food, Mommy!”), and AJ doesn’t like raw tomatoes (or apparently grilled ones, the blasphemer), and I don’t like artichokes.  We are pickier than that, but those are probably the major ones we can’t work around.  Help us out please!

6 responses to “Recipe request

  1. I have a few ideas:

    Corn and tomato bread pudding
    (from Fresh and Simple Vegetable Dinners, Jennifer Darling)

    3 T snipped sundried tomatoes
    4 beaten eggs
    1.5 c milk
    1 T fresh basil/1 t dried basil
    4 c torn English muffins or dry French bread
    1.5 c corn kernels (fresh or frozen)
    1 c cheese (cheddar works well)

    Place sundried tomatoes in a small bowl, add enough hot water to cover. Let stand 16 minutes or until softened. Drain. (You can leave this step out – I have forgotten it plenty of times – with no ill effects.) In a medium bowl, beat together eggs, milk, basil, corn, cheese and sundried tomatoes. Pour over a baking dish containing the bread. Bake in a 375 F oven 30 minutes or until done.

    Note: I usually double (I have been known to triple it, too, or just eyeball the quantities of everything) this.

    Mini muffin pizzas
    (from 101 Vegetarian Dishes, Orlando Murrin, ed.)

    1 very small zucchini
    1 English muffin
    2 T tomato sauce
    2 sundried tomatoes, sliced
    1.5 oz. mozzarella cheese, cubed
    1 t torn fresh oregano
    black pepper
    olive oil

    Preheat the broiler. Using a vegetable peeler, shred the zucchini lengthwise into thin ribbons. Split the muffin in half. Spread the cut halves with tomato sauce and toast for 1-2 minutes until hot. Arrange zucchini, sundried tomatoes, cheese and oregano over muffins. Season with black pepper and drizzle with olive oil. Broil for 2 minutes.

    Note: Multiply away. This is not really a recipe as much as a starting point for putting pizza toppings on smaller-sized bread products. However, the zucchini ribbons are fun. Anyway. It’s very quick, it’s similar to pizza, everyone wins.

    Spicy bean and lentil loaf
    (from The Cook’s Encyclopedia of Vegetarian Cooking, Linda Fraser)

    2 t olive oil
    1 onion, finely chopped
    1 garlic clove, crushed
    2 celery ribs, finely chopped
    14-oz. can kidney beans
    14-oz. can lentils
    1 egg
    1 carrot, coarsely grated
    1/2 c cheddar
    1 c bread crumbs
    1 T tomato paste
    1 T ketchup
    1 t each cumin, ground coriander and hot chili powder

    Preheat oven to 350 F. Lightly grease a loaf pan. Heat the oil in a saucepan, add the onion, garlic and celery and cook gently for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove the pan from the heat and cool slightly. Rinse and drain beans and lentils. Place in a blender or food processor with the onion mixture and egg and process until smooth. Transfer to a bowl, add remaining ingredients and mix well. Season. Spoon into loaf pan and level the surface. Bake for about an hour and serve either hot or cold.

    Note: Okay, this one sounds a little weird, but it is delicious. Also, one loaf pan of this stuff can feed someone for a week, seriously (recipe quantity is 12 servings). It is a little labour-intensive, but if you can do it beforehand, it is perfectly delicious cold. (Dave and I have taken this for lunch many times.)

    Elsewise, things I have made and liked from the site you do not like much: http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2009/05/sweet-potato-chili-vegan-crockpot.html
    http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2009/03/crockpot-mexican-breakfast-casserole.html
    http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/10/crockpot-butternut-squash-soup-recipe.html
    http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/09/moroccan-lentil-soup-crockpot-recipe.html
    http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/08/jalapeno-corn-pudding-crockpot-recipe.html

    I’ve got some other recipes I grabbed from metafilter and other places so I’ll post those sometime soon. I am tired of typing now.

  2. Some of those look delicious! One note, while I dislike that crockpot365 site, it isn’t necessarily because I don’t like their recipes, I just don’t like the look of it, it hurts my head for some reason.

    I’m intrigued by your lentil loaf thing, I do need more things that I could throw in Xander’s lunch. I tried to make some veggie muffins the other day (inspired by your comment about making such things) but alas, I didn’t have the ingredients that I thought I did and I hodgepodged a recipe together, which really isn’t something one should do with baking. It was edible, but that’s about all I could say for it.

  3. Putting this here a) because then everyone else can see the deliciousness and b) so I can find it later.

    Alana’s eggplant sandwiches:
    skin and slice eggplant
    put sliced tomato, goat cheese, fresh basil and salt and pepper on every other piece…
    top with piece of eggplant to make little eggplant “sandwich” if you will…
    brush with olive oil on top of top piece and bottom of bottom piece
    grill 7 minutes each side
    yum.

  4. Oh, it is indeed an ugly site. Especially that crockpot banner. I don’t know why that bugs me as much as it does, but oh well.

  5. Not so great for toddlers, but soup is super easy and fast, especially if you shop at trader joes. They have a ton of pre-prepped stuff. I make lentil soup with their mirepoix and pre-steamed lentils, and I make borscht with their mirepoix and pre-steamed beets. I use a lot of mirepoix :).

    French toast is also a fun dinner (that toddlers love), and is really fast. I pair it with “apple fries” (apples cut into matchstick shapes) and facon. Leftovers work for toddler lunches too, with some fruit and veggies thrown in.

Leave a Reply

