last week/this week

I did not post about last week’s food for any particular (or interesting reason); I just got caught up doing normal life stuff and then, when I was dealing with this week’s shopping list, I decided that I was going to rehash some of the things we had anyway, so I might as well wait. (Also, one of the things I made was a complete failure, so it wouldn’t have been worth writing about anyway.)

Tonight, I am making Courtney’s Super Fast, Sort of Homemade, Penne with (f)Meat Sauce along with The Best Broccoli of Your Life (from the Amateur Gourmet) and sweet potato wedges. We’ll be having that at some other point this week, along with some bagel sandwiches (kind of inspired by the week before … ish) and tom yam noodles (er, not at the same time). It’s a bit of a rehash week all over, though, since we’re having muffins for lunch that I made ages ago and put in the freezer  (carrot and thyme; sundried tomato and feta; and banana something).

Having eaten it, I can now say that the broccoli is probably the best broccoli I’ve ever had. Also, Courtney’s recipe is excellent. Also, I like sweet potato wedges almost as much as the broccoli.

So anyway, the previous week was tom yam noodles (it is currently my favourite soup-like thing), pasta with eggplant, and bagels with grilled vegetables. The latter would’ve been fine if it had done what it said on the tin, but the recipe made the bagels into some sort of salad and the whole thing was pretty much a soggy mess. Bagels and cream cheese and roasted vegetables together, however, are excellent (though the bagels we can buy here are not great).

Tom Yam Noodles
Recipe from 101 Vegetarian Dishes (Orlando Murrin, ed.).

1 T sunflower oil
1 small onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves
5 oz. mushrooms, sliced
1 red pepper, seeded and sliced
2 t Thai red curry paste
2.5 c vegetable stock
1 T soy sauce
zest of 1 lime and half the juice
4.5 oz. egg noodles
7 oz. can bamboo shoots, drained
handful of fresh cilantro [coriander]

Heat the oil in a pot and saute the onion until golden. Stir in the garlic, mushrooms and red pepper and saute for 3 minutes. Add the curry paste and cook for 1 minute. Stir in the stock, soy sauce and grated lime zest. Simmer for 3 minutes. Add the noodles to the pot and bring to a boil. Simmer until noodles are cooked. Add the bamboo shoots and most of the coriander and cook for 2 minutes. Add the lime juice to the soup and season. Pour into bowls, sprinkle the remaining coriander on top and serve.

Notes: The recipe says this makes 2 servings. I doubled it, and had about 6. I think the original recipe probably makes closer to 3. In any case, you can pad it out a bit with more noodles and stock.

Verdict: Have already made it again. Most soup I’ve ordered in Asian restaurants has made me suddenly and unpleasantly ill, so I am very glad to be able to get a similar flavour without any pain.

Pasta with Eggplant [Aubergine]
Recipe from 101 Vegetarian Dishes (Orlando Murrin, ed.).

5 T olive oil, plus extra to serve
2 medium aubergines, diced
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
2 t cumin seeds
1 red chili, seeded and finely sliced
2 oz. pine nuts, toasted
2 oz. golden raisins (regular raisins are fine)
12 oz. tagliatelle
6 T chopped cilantro [coriander]
zest and juice of 1 lemon
broiled lemon halves, to serve (optional)

Heat the oil in a large frying pan. Start the pasta in lightly salted water and cook until done. Add the aubergine and cook gently, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes until golden. Add the garlic, cumin and chili and cook for 4-5 minutes more. Season to taste and add the pine nuts and raisins. Take off the heat. Drain the pasta and add to the eggplant mixture, along with coriander and lemon zest and juice. Toss and serve with an extra drizzle of olive oil and broiled lemon halves.

Verdict: Yay aubergine! Will make this again.

4 responses to “last week/this week

  1. I’m intrigued by this muffin lunch concept….

    Also, why does asian food make you sick? That is interesting.

  2. Muffin lunch is easy. Next time you make too many muffins, freeze the extras. When you have too many extras, defrost them and take them for lunch!

    (Also known as “I was too lazy to decide what to make for lunches this week so I was glad that there was something in the freezer.”)

    Asian food doesn’t make me sick in general, but Asian soup (ramen, tom yam, miso, etc.) gives me immediate digestive issues. Not sure what it is, but I am not too keen to experiment to find out.

  3. I should clarify: Asian soup I’ve had in restaurants gives me this issue; homemade stuff doesn’t.

  4. Glad you liked the pasta! That’s one of our favorites here.

Leave a Reply

